Contactless curbside pickup available. Free shipping on orders over $125.00.

Fiberside Chats

Join Live Online Chats with Some of Fiber's Most Exciting Creators
It's easy peasy to join in.
Fiberside Chats costs $20 to register.
You'll want to scroll down to choose Yarn Bar as your home shop.

Some of your favorite designers and creators will join us for a series of online gatherings with a partnership with fellow LYS, Longmont Yarn Shoppe: Fiberside Chats!

Launched in May of 2020, these gatherings, hosted on Zoom, are one-hour sessions with special guests joining us to give a peek into their world. These designers and creators will discuss their unique path, creative processes, latest projects—or whatever is inspiring them now. There will also be a Q&A session, giveaways, and other fun surprises for those who join!

Woolly Wormhead ● May 7

Wooly Wormhead
The Magic of Sideways Knit Hats

This is a Hat knitting method so many folks associate with Woolly Wormhead and I’m keen to demystify it! I will talk about the construction method, and how there’s more than one method of knitting sideways. I’ll also discuss how our stitches and fabric properties change when we turn our work through ninety degrees, and the techniques we use to create a seamless Hat. We’ll cover why I love this method, it’s potential and how it differs to other Hat construction methods. It’s not going to be all technical - there’s lots of fun things to explore, and I’ve plenty of examples, schematics and deconstructed Hats to share!

 Woolly Wormhead is a Hat Architect.
With an instinctive flair for unusual construction and a passion for innovation, Woolly Wormhead is a designer whose patterns are trusted and celebrated by knitters all over the world. As a designer, Woolly is driven by a need to create and develop their understanding of 3D form. Communicating ideas and sharing specialised knowledge with their audiences is key to Woolly’s success as a designer. Woolly’s high quality pattern writing ensures perfect results, teaches new skills and encourages us all to become Hat architects. woollywormhead.com

This is a live Zoom Event on Saturday, May 7th at 1:00pm Eastern, 12:00pm Central, 11:00am Mountain, 10:00am Pacific, 7:00pm CEST.

This Fiberside Chat will be recorded - a link to the recording will be available for one week and shared with registered attendees only. 

 

Toni Lipsey ● May 22

REGISTER HERE

3 Classic Crochet Stitches Everyone Should Know

Join designer & instructor Toni Lipsey of TL Yarn Crafts for this live demo to add 3 classic crochet stitches to your toolkit and explore variations that appeal to both knitters and crocheters! Mastering just a few basic stitches opens your maker world to thousands of project ideas and giftable pieces. Toni will demonstrate each stitch, including row-by-row instructions, tips for incorporating colorwork, and how to use that stitch in a variety of patterns.
You are encouraged to learn alongside Toni during the chat. A handout will be provided and all you need is 2-3 colors of worsted weight yarn and a 6mm crochet hook. 

Toni Lipsey, the designer, instructor and author behind TL Yarn Crafts, strives to inspire others’ creativity through online tutorials and modern, approachable crochet patterns. Toni learned to crochet from her mother as a teenager and has been exploring the possibilities of yarn ever since. Her current design obsessions are oversized shawls and modern home decor. When she’s not crocheting, you can find Toni cuddled with her 2 kittens and husband in her Ohio home, binge-watching the latest true-crime thriller on Netflix. Follow her daily crochet journey on Instagram and pick up her book, The Tunisian Crochet Handbook, and patterns on tlyarncrafts.com

 This is a live Zoom Event on Sunday, May 22nd at 3:00pm Eastern, 2:00pm Central, 1:00pm Mountain, 12:00pm Pacific & AZ.

This Fiberside Chat will be recorded - a link to the recording will be available for one week and shared with registered attendees only. 

Stephen West ● June 5

REGISTER HERE

Modular Magic

Join Stephen as he shares all about modular knitting with this colorful presentation. Learn how Stephen chooses colors and constructs his modular designs like architectural puzzles. Ask questions and enjoy all of the westknits inspiration!

Stephen West’s prolific shawl designs and innovative use of color have made him an internationally recognized designer. Stephen was born and raised in Tulsa, Oklahoma; moved to Chicago, Illinois for school, and later moved to Amsterdam, Netherlands, to study choreography. Stephen's designs have been knitted by thousands of knitters all around the world. He currently lives in Amsterdam where he co-owns Stephen & Penelope, a yarn boutique in the city center. In 2019 Stephen and his business partner Malia Mae Joseph realized a long-held dream by launching their first yarn brand, West Wool.

This is a live Zoom Event on Sunday, June 5th at 1:00pm Eastern, 12:00pm Central, 11:00am Mountain, 10:00am Pacific, 7:00pm CEST

This Fiberside Chat will be recorded - a link to the recording will be available for one week and shared with registered attendees only. 

Marie Greene ● June 19

All About Ease - 10 Expert Secrets for Getting the Right Sweater Fit

Join designer & author Marie Greene for the inside scoop on sweater ease, choosing your size, and getting the fit you expect in your sweaters! Marie will share her top 10 secrets for sweater success in this delightful (and informative) chat.

Marie Greene is the founder of Olive Knits and Knit Camp, and the author of three (soon to be four!) books on knitting, including Seamless Knit Sweaters in 2 Weeks. Her renegade knitting tricks and cheerful teaching style have helped knitters around the world knit with confidence. You'll love her candid insights, brilliant tips and real-life stories that will not only teach and inspire you, but will keep you laughing along the way. Marie lives in the Pacific Northwest with her husband and two adorable (but aloof) kitties. 

This is a live Zoom Event on Sunday, June 19th at 1:00pm Eastern, 12:00pm Central, 11:00am Mountain, 10:00am Pacific

This Fiberside Chat will be recorded - a link to the recording will be available for one week and shared with registered attendees only. 

 

REGISTER HERE

Click the link above to register with Yarn Bar as your host shop  

Your ZOOM Link will be sent the evening before and about 1 hour before the event. Check your spam filter if you do not see it.